La Vouivre

Lurking in the shadows for years, the myth of the Wyvern was just waiting to emerge from its torpor. In 2021, as the world turns to the apocalypse, the circus company Origami has decided to join forces with craftsmen-creators in order to bring the creature back to life.

 

Entirely made of rattan and wood, the beast is a unique piece about three meters high. Thanks to the flexibility and the lightness of its materials, this puppet is extremely handy and becomes a support of creation of a legendary quality for the circus and the theater.

 

The wyvern is part of one of the most popular myths of French-speaking Switzerland. This winged serpent bearing a magic carbuncle on its head has been the protagonist of many stories and literary works. In our case, why not bring this legend back to life?

 

We imagined a series of lines of research. These seek to unite in a living spectacle its imaginary and monstrous environment. Objects are transformed, characters play with their bodies. The soundscape aims to move the viewer towards an extraordinary world.

Paysage.JPG

2023 objectives

The La Vouivre stroll is impressive in terms of its appearance, its mobility and its artisanal design. Six people give it life and bring it closer to people. The wandering is dramatized, throughout the journey, the Wyvern is certain places of stop where impromptu can introduce to the observer of improbable act.

The spectacle of La Vouivre invites itself to a public square. Everything is set up to offer a real waking dream. Circus arts, puppets and French-speaking folklore come together to introduce a new version of the legend loaded with fantasy and surprises. 6 circus artists will bring this puppet to life and bring its universe to life through their artistic know-how. Acrobatics, manipulation of objects, dance, theater and sound creation are particularly present in this great live show.

First handling of the company Origami

Craftsmen

Christophe Kiss is a freelance puppet sculptor. Established in Rolle, he teaches drawing and executes commissions for cultural institutions. Through the JEMA (Arts and Crafts Days) he met Michel Québatte, master basket maker based in Yverdon-les-bains. A complicity is established and, in 2020, the first sketches of a winged serpent, entirely made of rattan, are born. The idea was to have an ultra manageable, light, unbreakable, aesthetic and ecological puppet, being made with natural materials. Indeed, the material with which the Wyvern is created is an extremely interesting medium: the rattan is soft when it is wet, it can then marry the shapes that are given to it and stiffens once dry. It retains its flexibility at all times, virtually unbreakable. In addition, it is light and only grows in areas of humid biodiversity, completely refractory to monoculture. Assisted by Samantha Kiss, Noé Favre and Kurt Straumann, the two experts brought to life, through cunning and intense reflection, the desired creature, about 2m50 tall, made to be animated by six people at belly level and wings.

Christophe Kiss, professional puppet sculptor and drawing teacher at CFPArts in Geneva.

 

https://www.sculpturemarionnettes.com/

 

Michel Québatte, professional creative basket weaver, trainer for social teachers and designer students, Yverdon-les-bains.

 

https://www.art-quebatte.ch/dossier-presse.html

 

Samantha Kiss, multidisciplinary artist, mediator of cultural projects and social animator since 2019

_DSC8691.JPG

LA VOUIVRE

Tapi dans l’ombre depuis des années, le mythe de la Vouivre ne demandait qu’à sortir de la torpeur. En 2021, alors que le monde tourne à l’apocalypse, la compagnie de cirque Origami a décidé de s’associer à des artisans-créateurs afin de redonner vie à la créature.

 

Entièrement faite de rotin et de bois, la bête est une pièce unique d’environ trois mètres de haut. Grâce à la souplesse et à la légèreté de ses matériaux, cette marionnette est extrêmement maniable et devient un support de création d’une qualité légendaire pour le cirque et le théâtre.

 

La vouivre fait partie de l’un des mythes les plus populaires de la Suisse romande. Ce serpent ailé portant un escarboucle magique sur la tête a été le protagoniste de nombreuses histoires et œuvres littéraires. Dans notre cas, pourquoi pas ramener cette légende à la vie ?

 

Nous avons imaginé une série de lignes de recherches. Celles-ci cherchent à unir dans un spectacle vivant son environnement imaginaire et monstrueux. Les objets sont transformés, les personnages jouent avec leurs corps. L’ambiance sonore visent à déplacer le spectateur vers un monde hors du commun.

Paysage.JPG

Objectifs 2023

La déambulation La Vouivre est impressionnante par son allure, sa mobilité et sa conception artisanale. Se sont six personnes qui lui donnent vie et l’amènent au plus proche des gens. La déambulation est théâtralisée, tout au long du voyage, la Vouivre se trouve certaines places de stop où des impromptu pourrons introduire aux observateur d’improbable acte.

Le spectacle de La Vouivre s’invite sur une place publique. Tout est mis en place pour offrir un véritable rêve éveillé. Les arts du cirque, les marionnettes et le folklore romand se mélangent pour faire découvrir une nouvelle version de la légende chargée de fantaisie et surprises. 6 artistes circassiens donneront vie à cette marionnette et amèneront son univers par leurs savoir-faire artistiques. La acrobatie, la manipulation d’objets, la danse, le théâtre et la création sonore sont notamment présents dans ce grand spectacle vivant.

Premières prise en main de la cie Origami

Les artisans

Christophe Kiss est sculpteur de marionnettes indépendant. Établi à Rolle, il enseigne le dessin et exécute des commandes pour des institutions culturelles. Au travers des JEMA, (Journées des Métiers d’Arts) il fait la connaissance de Michel Québatte, maître vannier basé à Yverdon-les-bains. Une complicité s’installe et, en 2020, naissent les premiers croquis d’un serpent ailé, entièrement fait de rotin. L’idée était d’avoir une marionnette ultra maniable, légère, incassable, esthétique et écologique, étant faite avec des matériaux naturels. En effet, la matière avec laquelle la Vouivre est créée est un médium extrêmement intéressant : le rotin est mou lorsqu’il est mouillé, il peut alors épouser les formes qu’on lui donne et se rigidifie une fois sec. Il conserve en tout temps sa souplesse, quasiment incassable. De surcroît, il est léger et ne pousse que dans des zones de biodiversités humides, complètement réfractaires à la monoculture. Assistés par Samantha Kiss, Noé Favre et Kurt Straumann, les deux experts ont fait naître au prix de ruses et d’intenses réflexions la créature désirée d’une hauteur d’environ 2m50, faite pour être animée par six personnes au niveau du ventre et des ailes.

Christophe Kiss, sculpteur de marionnettes professionnel et enseignant de dessin au CFPArts de Genève.

 

https://www.sculpturemarionnettes.com/

 

Michel Québatte, vannier créateur professionnel, formateur maîtres sociaux et élèves designer, Yverdon-les-bains.

 

https://www.art-quebatte.ch/dossier-presse.html

 

Samantha Kiss, artiste multidisciplinaire, médiatrice de projets culturels et animatrice sociale depuis 2019

_DSC8691.JPG